THE GOSPEL ACCORDING TO SELFIE


image

Then he said, “This is what I’ll do. I will tear down my barns and build bigger ones, and there I will store my surplus grain. And I’ll say to myself, “you have a plenty of grain laid up for many years. Take life easy; eat, drink and be merry” — Luke 12:18-19

I adopted the above topic from a clergy’s article. It seemed very fit for my devotional. The advent of social media has brought about various trends especially in the area of photography. Everyone wants to impress others through the trending “selfie”. It is not wrong to take a selfie anyway. We can pick a few lessons from that.

It seemed everything now is all about us, ourselves, our looks, who we are and who must know who we are! We are gradually shifting our attentions from God’s love to “self-love”. It is worthy to note that God’s reason for everything He does is to show forth His glory and He wants us to continue in that trend! He wants us to continue showing forth His glory! God wants it to be all about Him! People might argue God is being very self-centered! But no, He is God!

If it is all about you, then God will simply let you do your things, heal yourself, give yourself breath of life, save yourself from sins and do a whole lot of things for your self. A little baby will always expect his mother to show up in time of fear, hunger and thirst and the mother proudly does that to show the baby that “without me you are dead!”. That is how it goes with God!

Let’s talk about the rich fool a bit! He preached the gospel of selfie and God allowed him to sort out things for himself! In the 21st century, he could take a selfie, take them to his instagram handler and declare “It is all about I, me and myself”. Let’s clearly understand why God said to him in verse 20

“You fool! This very night, your life will be demanded from you. Then who will get what you have prepared for yourself?”

Since the man had taken to the selfie-gospel which says “It is I, me and myself” God took hands of Him! When you make it is all about God, no one will demand your life from you because it is strictly in God’s care but when it is all about you, you will not be able to secure your own life! It is all about God simply because of you! Let this always ring bells in our heart

“This is how it will be with whoever stores up things for themselves but is not rich towards God” Luke 12:12

Why should it be all about God? Peter wrote in 1 Peter 5:12

“Cast all your cares upon Him because He cares for you”

Wow! Isn’t that enough reason to leave it all up to God? Isn’t that enough reason to give up our self-love and try God’s love. Many choosed self-love because they were disappointed by friends, betrayed by loved ones an even denied! We are so hungry for an unfailing love, those who should love us didn’t. Those who could have loved us wouldn’t. We were left in the park to find our ways home, we were abandoned in the hospital, left at the altar, left with a broken heart, left all alone and left with our question “does anybody love me? Why me?”… The cross is always there, when we look at it, we not only hear God, we also see Him with the answers saying  “I do”

We can find the limit of the sea depth, we can find the limit of the earth, we can find the limit of everything else — it may take us almost all of our strentgh and resources to find its limit but we can definitely find them! But we can’t find the depth of God’s love! It is bottomless, without end! So, we can’t even trust ourselves enough to depend on our self love!

Do you still think God is being very selfish? Are you still not comfortable to turn it all to God and reject the selfie-gospel? Well, hear me. We don’t know what it takes to run this world! Only the wise will care not even to know! Just leave it in His hans. Only Him knows. It is not about me, it is all about God.

PRAYER: Dear Lord God Almighty, I give up om myself, I give in to you! Let it always be all about you!

Download George’s Diary for Android

Feel free to talk about this! Post your comment here!

