NEVER FORGET… GOD HAS NOT FORGOT



One of the big reasons why people don’t pray the right prayer or even get answers to prayers is because they have a very wrong mindset about the nature of God and his personality. God isn’t wicked or mean to us when we pray but whenever we make God look mean and wicked, we are making it impossible for him to act because once he acts on wrong presentation of who is, then his nature becomes a lie to us and God cannot lie, neither can he present himself to us on falsehood. 
.

I have heard lots of Christians pray as though God has forgotten them; they ask God questions and shout at him in a bid to say “God why have you forgotten us? Why are you doing this to me?” In the New Testament, we don’t see such prayers because God has been revealed in Jesus and his nature is clearly understood. Even in the Old Testament, lots of Prophets knew and taught that God doesn’t forget his people. We will be looking at a place in the book of Isaiah so that we can see why it is very important that we never forget that God can never forget us, in fact, the thought of God ever forgetting you can lead to Idol worship.

.

Before we look at Isaiah, I will like us to go back to the time of Moses and see what really prompted the making of an Idol in Israel and what propelled its worship. In Exodus 32:1, they spoke as though God has forgotten them; they even had more faith in Moses than in God because if they had faith in God, the absence of Moses wouldn’t have created much vacuum in their hearts, they would have been comforted by the knowledge of God’s omnipresence. Because they lacked faith in God, they quickly agreed to make themselves a golden calf as a god. God was never happy because they have automatically rejected him. The belief that God has forgotten us can quickly lead us to reject him. The worship of Idol simply means the rejection of God.

.

In South East Nigeria where I have spent almost my 25 years of being on earth, I have seen lots of women who are looking for the fruit of the womb. They go to Church, kneel at the altar and question God, asking him why he has forgotten them. They shout to the Lord as if they are trying to wake him from sleep and then they see no result. The next thing they usually do is dash to the native priest of a false god to seek for the fruit of the womb. They suddenly reject God even while claiming they are still believers. Some of these women still come to Church and yet, visit the house of other false gods. We have lots of those kinds all over Africa, people who call themselves Christians but they observe strange rituals that make no meaning in Christianity, they say things and follow rules that are directly in opposition with the word of God.

.

I decided to lay this foundation so that we understand the place we will be looking at in Isaiah 44:9-28. While I won’t be detailing the meaning of each and every verse of that scripture so as not to make volumes out of this post, I will be touching few places with which we can study further and know what God wants us to know. From verse 9, the scriptures was explaining the foolishness of an Idol worshipper, the bible showcased them as morons, people who have no understanding. The bible explains that their foolishness have led them to a point of helplessness and then suddenly in verse 21-22, we see God revealing to us why they act this way and the solution he has provided for those helpless foolish persons. God said 

.

“Israel, remember this, remember that you are my servant, I created you to be my servant, I will never forget you. I have swept your sins away like a cloud. Come back to me; I am the one who saves you”

.

We can quickly see the problem, they believed that God has forgotten them just like in the time of Moses and they resorted to confiding in the art of the human hands. But what is God’s reply? God didn’t say he is about to remember them because he has never ever forgotten them in the first place, they have always been in the mind of God how much more you that was purchased by the blood of Jesus! God doesn’t just remember them, he had forgiven their sins a long time ago but because they never knew, because they had the wrong mindset about God, because they had no faith in God, they never knew that their sins were forgiven. And God keeps saying even till date “Come back to me; I am the one who saves you”

.

God is mighty to save, he is mighty to deliver! But God’s salvation cannot make meaning to us when we have not received it. The problem with man is not God’s non-response because God has been responding but man has not being receiving. I always tell people that God’s goodness isn’t what God does, God is good himself! God is not just being merciful; God is in himself a merciful God! It begins by believing and trusting God. See, if you continue questioning God over your situations, you will end up where Idol worshipers ended up.

.

Just look at that! God is saying to those idol worshippers that he has swept their sins away even when they have not asked him to forgive them! He has swept their sins away, even when they are not remorseful! But, they cannot be saved if they don’t come back to God. One will wonder, why won’t they be saved since God has forgiven them? I will answer that. God does not owe any man forgiveness again, God has forgiven every man. God is not in the business of listening to your bad stories every day, God wants you to bless his name rather than recant your bad stories. God has already forgiven you even before the coming of Jesus. Jesus did not die for the forgiveness of your sins; Jesus died to settle with the demands of the law forever and ever! Jesus died to seal God’s forgiveness and overpay your debts of righteousness to the law. The bible says in John 3:16 that it is God’s love for you and I that brought about the death of Jesus on the cross. If God has never forgiven us, he wouldn’t have sent Jesus. I want us to understand this, God forgave us but the demands of the law which is “the sinner shall die” has to be met. When Jesus prayed for forgiveness on the cross, he was only showcasing and revealing God’s love for man. The extent of God’s for man was that while we were lost in sin, God loved us. Jesus was being flogged, spat on, caricatured and bullied but he asked for their forgiveness. They were forgiven a long time ago but Jesus was revealing his love for them! He is God, don’t forget that. Jesus did not die for God to love man, Jesus died because God loves man.

.

When the criminal asked Jesus to remember him in his paradise, Jesus didn’t start saying “you need God’s forgiveness first, Jesus didn’t ask him to start pleading for mercy”, the robber obtained God’s mercy through faith! Salvation is received by faith! Confession is made by faith!

Why all these long sermons? I want you to understand the nature of God! God has not forgotten you and he is not planning to! One thing sin will do is that it will make you forget God but it doesn’t make God forget you! When you forget God, you cannot receive from him. When you feel that God is not paying attention to you, you are making him a liar! 

.

As I was studying the scriptures today, I came over Isaiah 49:15-16 and I began to praise God in unknown tongues because I saw and felt God cuddling me in his own very palms! The knowledge of God’s presence and remembrance makes you feel safe in his hands. Let us see what God said in Isaiah 49:15-16

.

“Can a woman forget her nursing child And have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, but I will not forget you. “Behold, I have inscribed you on the palms of My hands; Your walls are continually before Me.”
.

I don’t know if you understand the above portion of the scripture. God said that even if a pregnant woman can forget the child in her womb that he cannot forget you! That is to say, it is certainly impossible for a woman to forget she is carrying a child when pregnant but it is much more impossible for God to forget you! God is saying that he is more concerned about you than a woman is concerned about the baby she is carrying in her womb! I am charged right now and as I am typing this, I am shaking and shivering… I am so glad and so blessed because God’s presence has been revealed much more to me! God said that my name is written on his palms!

.

If God has not forgotten idol worshippers, how much more me and you? If God has forgiven them even before their repentance, how much more you and I! I just can’t resist the move of the Spirit at this moment. I believe something is happening to you right now, right where you are. I believe the revelation of God’s remembrance has charged up your spirit man! God is still saying to you “your days of unbelief was forgiven, your days of calling me a liar was forgiven, your days of idol worship was forgiven! Your days of putting faith in mere mortals was forgiven! I the LORD of hosts has forgiven you a long time ago! You just have to accept my forgiveness! Come to me for I am the only one who can save you out of that mess! I am the only one who saves!”

.

Praise the Lord! I hope this had blessed your life! Go in the knowledge of God’s love and mercy!

.

Share your testimonies and thoughts!

.

#GracefulGeorge

Feel free to talk about this! Post your comment here!

