STORY: GOLD IN THE DUST



24 hours later

:

“Today on Faith Live broadcast, we have Dr Mrs. Juliet Nwankwo. The wife of the Governor elect of Imo State and of course a generous and great humanitarian whose service and achievements has been applauded by international bodies. Welcome Doctor” that was the voice of the presenter coming from the television.

:

Emeka was in the bathroom but he could hear the television. He wanted to really hear from Dr. Juliet and of course see why this woman has always been celebrated. He managed to draw down his large towel from the hanger, cleaned up and tied it round his waist. He limped towards his sitting room and of course old age seemed to be getting him into a worst state. His waist ached and he had lived with it. Entering his sitting room in his towel, he looked into the TV to see this amazing woman. Ashely had told him how her encounter with her was and how she had responded to her at the hospital founded by the Nwankwo’s.

:

“So, Dr. Juliet” came the presenters voice “what message does your husband’s victory at the polls signify to you owning to the fact that your personality also greatly contributed to his successful election”

:

“Well” Juliet smiled “my story started in tears and has progressed with joy. I was trained by my grand parents and am ever grateful to them… Wherever they are today, they will be happy that their Child is doing really well. My grand parents told me the story surrounding my birth. My mother died during childbirth and the man responsible for my pregnancy rejected me because I am a girl. His family also rejected me and even said I am ‘Ogbanje’…hahaha… It sounds really funny but its true…. So, when…” 

:

Emeka was shocked as she continued. His mind left the broadcast as he started thinking back. Tears from nowhere came all over his face and he found it hard to breath properly. He was beginning to shiver in fears and he fixed back his gaze on the TV as Juliet kept talking.

:

“I grew up in very hard conditions and I made up my mind to fight for our girl child and also reorient our people. I made up my mind never to settle for the less and to always be victorious. I was told my father’s name but I didn’t go looking for him because he rejected me… But with my life, I pledged to prove to him that whether its a boy or a girl… They’re all from God.” 

:

“Dr Juliet” the presenter cuts in “your story is quite inspiring. When one looks at you, its difficult to believe you passed through all those things you just said. But, don’t you think it would have been much more explosive if you had been the one who ran for the governorship instead of your husband. We all know that people will still come out in mass to vote for you… At least, your husband’s closest rival said yesterday in his speech that your family is an inspiration to the world all because of you.”

:

“Ermmm…” Juliet smiled and her beauty radiated making Emeka want to go crazy “if a woman could support her husband become the best he can be… It means we are valuable and strong. My husband and me are the same thing! His win is my win. After all, we are two bodies that became one flesh. Being a governor is not my thing… I’ve got lots of things I am doing with United Nations, World Health Organisation and other international bodies and I need to focus on those appointments”

:

Emeka’s blood pressure was beginning to get high and his heart began to ache badly. He wanted to shout but he couldn’t. He stood up to stagger into his room but felled to the floor. It was the sound of his fall that attracted Ashely who was in the Kitchen making dinner. 

:

“Papa… Papa… Jesus! What is wrong!” She shouted trying to help him. He kept pointing at the television with his left finger while his right hand held on to his chest, he couldn’t speak but moan painfully. 

:

“I’m calling 112” Ashely promised amidst tears and fear. “You can’t leave us now… You’ll pass through this”

:

…to be continued

:

“A George’s Diary Short Story.

© 2016 George Onyedika Nnadozie”

:

All rights reserved.

:

#KingGeorge

#GracefulGeorgr

Feel free to talk about this! Post your comment here!

