THE GIRL THAT MADE ME CRY



:

I met Lucy in 2008. She was the first girl that drove me crazy… These days, I get crazy for something different.

:

We entered the examination hall with high optimism of scattering the strong holds of failure with our brilliance. Our school back then wasn’t approved to hold WAEC exams therefore we got transferred to Akunne Oniah Secondary School. Before entering the school, we have received all manner of “flying colour” wishes and that alone was enough to build our morale.

:

The school had a very large hall which I felt was specially designed for the purpose of hosting large number of students. We had our registration numbers and we had to look for these numbers on the tables and sit according to our numbers. I thought my elder brother would be my neighbor or at least someone from Winners International School. 

:

Most of the tables got occupied within couple of minutes; my brother was already on his own table which stood at the far right of mine. I was wondering who my neighbor was when I noticed a tall, slim beautiful girl walk towards the table. She had this smile that made me skip some heart beats and for some seconds I had forgotten where I was. I thought she was smiling at me but unfortunately, her smiles belonged to her friend who was sitting around me too. She didn’t notice me, I thought. If she did, she never showed it.

:

We were going to write this exam for several days and that means she was going to be sitting near me for all of those days. We would possibly get along someday, I thought. I was infatuated to her and at the same time, I really like her so much! I could remember breaking my pencil and sharpening the other part so that she can draw. I could also remember giving her my pen and going around to look for another pen. Sometimes, I intentionally come to school with two pens praying in my heart that she forgets hers at home. Mosttimes, my prayers got answered or was fate praying pranks? Perhaps it were all coincidental. I only wanted an opportunity to always get her talk to me.

:

I liked her and wanted us to be officially friends but my “introvertism” couldn’t let me spill my guts. The thought of telling her what I feel about her would always increase my heart beat with lots of thoughts going on in my head. I have heard lots of stories of girls slapping men who talk to them about friendship, I have heard stories of girls shouting and disgracing a man who tries to get them closer. I was afraid of being a victim to such, I was afraid of receiving the big “NO” because as an emotional person, I thought my heart couldn’t bear rejection. I was much younger then to understand certain things… Or perhaps, I just wasn’t informed.

:

At the last day of our exam, I was wondering what would become of us, I was wondering if we would still be connected and so I gathered the very last of my strength to walk up to her at the gate. She was discussing with her friends, they were talking about the exam and how successful it has been and I came along asking that we see aside with my shaky mouth. I didn’t know what to say, I was just standing there with her, I had all the opportunity to tell her how I felt but I couldn’t because I was very shy and so afraid of the unknown. And then I managed to say “I would like us to keep in touch. Give me your number”. I found a paper and pen and she wrote down her phone number. I had no phone then.

:

After some days, I would secretly call Lucy with my mum’s phone and at the end of the day; there was nothing I would say. Before calling her, I would rehearse for minutes and visualize what her reaction would be. Once she’s on the phone, I will still find it difficult to tell her whatever I had planned saying and it would usually end with “I just wanted to know how you are doing”.

:

Thanks to Starcoms Mobile, they suddenly launched a mobile phone that sold at eight hundred naira only and I bought it! I bought it just because I wanted to be speaking with Lucy but truth was that I remained boring, I couldn’t say anything and any sane person would get worried over my frequent calling without any reasonable conversation. I call in the morning to say “good morning”, I call in the afternoon to ask “how is your day going?” and I call in the night to say “good night”. Sometimes I even call in the midnight to ask “are you still awake?” I called her one afternoon and she didn’t pick up my call, I called again she didn’t pick up… I tried using my mum’s phone and she responded with a text message that reads “What do you want from me? Please leave me alone!” It was my mum who received this text and you should trust mothers! She gave me lots of sermon, she almost hit me but my lies were so convincing that she believed the message must have been sent in error. After much failure towards getting Lucy’s attention, I gave up but remained sad about it for years. While I kept meeting people, I always had her in mind.

:

I wrote a complete book concerning how we met. The presence of that book kept reminding me of her and I had to tear it and discard it. I wrote the book in tears and I tore it in tears. I still can’t imagine that I did those things… I was running crazy! And I agree… I was being very childish! Yet, those experiences formed some part of the matured version of myself today.

:

To cut the long story short… I later came in contact with her again, we became very good friends but then I had become wiser and in much more control of my emotions. I still liked her as much but I knew some things can’t be and I wasn’t living to regret anything because as someone who has grown up and someone who is experiencing tremendous maturity, I knew those things I did in the past would have been controlled if I had an elder who had a listening ear, who would tell me there was nothing wrong with my feelings but that I had to take mastery of my emotions. She told me a story, it was about that day she stopped picking my calls.

:

She was in a bus in Lagos and her phone was ringing. She wanted to return the calls when she gets down from the bus but the incessant ring of the phone caused her to consider picking it up, perhaps it would be something very important. As she bent to open her bag, the bus halted to a stop and she accidentally fell off the seat. She sustained some wound. When she had time to open her phone, she discovered I was the one who was calling and she got wounded for trying to pick my calls. Had I patiently dropped the phone when she wasn’t picking, she wouldn’t have had that injury! She decided to stop picking my calls.

:

Later in the coming years, those past experiences were enough to form the basis of our friendship and we would laugh over my emotional over-reactions! She is one of those persons who understand my temperament and my kind of person. 

:

Why did I have to tell this long story? Someone would be wondering if there are any moral lessons attached to this story… Well, I can’t really say what the lessons are but I want people, especially the younger ones to understand that we all went through those times when we are so infatuated to someone that we often feel we will die without that person. No matter how you feel about someone, your feelings aren’t the proof of compatibility! Your feelings don’t guarantee that someone must be with you. Sometimes, convert those feelings to a positive energy of casual friendship. Friendship plays great roles in our lives. My emotional outbursts minimized a lot when I made friends… People I can talk to and share my “craziness” with.

:

Now… that beautiful damsel in the picture is the one who made me cry back then. Lol!

:

#KingGeorge

#GracefulGeorge

Feel free to talk about this! Post your comment here!

